jump to navigation

Celebrate! July 3, 2007

Posted by coachtonya in Lessons from a child.
trackback

I took Logan over to my brothers to play with the kids, last week. As the grown-ups where socializing, Logan came down with a stuffed puppy cradled in his arms, with a mini bottles of water.

“Look, momma!!! Look!” he exclaimed as he put the bottle to the puppy’s lips, “I am feeding the puppy!! Look momma!” It was so obvious that he was so proud of himself. I praised him and he gave me a hug before he toddled off to play with the kids again.

One of the best things about being a mother is being able to celebrate those moments with your kids, to help them feel proud of themselves. Fueling that self-respect in themselves is important to their developing sense of self. Even the smallest pat on the back or “Way to go!”, goes a long way to helping them feel good about who they are.

As adults do we not practice celebrating all our successes, even the small ones as we see and encourage in our children.

When was the last time you patted yourself on the back?

It can be a devastating to your self-esteem, when you consistently do not recognize that you are responsible for your successes. Allowing yourself to feel pride in your accomplishments is part of sustaining your relationship with yourself, which is the cornerstone to prosperity.

How many times to you deny yourself the opportunity to celebrate a success, because we did not believe that we deserved it?

Women have a hard time allowing themselves to celebrate a success. There was a time in my life, when I would come up with every excuse not to credit myself with a good job. “It’s not perfect”, “It was nothing”, I would pull away from praise, because I did not feel I was deserving of a pat on the back for such little things. Because I was not able to accept positive feedback from others, I not able to give it to myself either.

There is nothing wrong in letting ourselves be proud of our accomplishments. Give yourself a pat on the back and celebrate the fact that YOU accomplished it!

I often tell myself that I am fabulous, like after I figured out how to do something new. I take pride in the fact that I did not give up when I did not know how to do it.  Celebrating my newly acquired knowledge.

Take time to celebrate that you got one more thing done off your “To-do list”; that you did not lose your temper, or when you had a productive day. Be proud in the fact that you made time for yourself and your family…celebrate anything and everything.

I am so grateful that I can share in celebrating Logan’s new accomplishments, helping him feel good about being who he is, and I am grateful that he reminds me how do this for myself too.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

